Daily Archives: Sep. 11th, 08

Like 40 Acres to Blacks

Briefly: I can’t tell you how much it pains me to owe money to friends. I try not to borrow any unless it’s really necessary. Even then, I put up a fight. I know people just want to help, I guess I’m used to taking care of myself and making a way. Still, even I know that we all need a hand. Times is hard. I’m a student. I don’t have family with money in their pockets.

When I do need to borrow money from a friend, it stays on my mind to pay them back. It might not be the next week or the next month, but for sure I’m going to get it back to them. They may have forgotten about it or they might not really expect a return at all (a lot of people have the view that if you can’t afford to lose it, you can’t lend it).

When I’m out with my friends and I forgot to get cash or I’m short a few bucks, someone will probably front me the dough. Now I don’t keep exact tabs on debts like that. I just know that next time I’ll get the tab. That’s not really an I owe you/you owe me situation. That’s just the way it is with friends. Direct money lending, however, is another story. Especially when it’s a large amount.

Anyway, I pay folks back. I expect the same. Otherwise, you’re in for a world of pain. Just like oil and water, business and pleasure, friends and owed money just doesn’t mix.

So if I need some paper, just know I’m good for it!!

2 Comments

Filed under Routine Ramblings

another look at drunk dialing

“You never call me when you’re sober…”
• Call Me When You’re Sober – Evanescence

What, if anything, does it mean if someone never calls you when they’re sober? And by “never”, I mean 9/10 times you’re on the receiving end of the drunken call. This, by the way, is not exactly the same as a drunk dial. The drunk dial is chiefly characterized by the revelation of some potentially embarrasing information that the caller wouldn’t normally share. Proclamations of love, sexual suggestions, rants and angry shit are all under the purview of drunk dialing. I guess the “never calling sober” still comes under the umbrella of drunk dialing, it’s just a bit different in my experience.

A recent call by a drunk friend around 2am this morning reminded me of someone I used to know who never called me when he was sober… Continue reading

1 Comment

Filed under My Life, relationships, Routine Ramblings