Boy, men sure are delicate.

click on the pic for the BIG picture and the rest of the article.

This article from Good Housekeeping has been circulating around the interweb for like, EVER. Still, I can’t help but get a kick out of it. Post it on a messageboard and you’ll see how many people find absolutely nothing wrong with the message put forth in the article/ad. I guess at a certain level, there’s nothing wrong with it if that’s what you’re into. It’s the entitlement of it all that really gets to me. 

If anything, I think men should be offended. They sure seem delicate and sensitive. If I, as a wife, need to tiptoe around my husband because he can’t handle being around all those “work-weary people” everyday, and survive under the burden of strain and pressure placed upon him at his white-collar job, well he’s a loser. If he needs to be coddled and the realities of our family life must be hidden away from him, well he’s a wimp. If he can’t handle the real world, well he’s lame.

To be fair, this was written in 1955. Things are different now. It’s pretty hard for a woman to wait for her husband to get home, preparing for his arrival all day long. It’s 2008 and although I’d like to just LOL at this, I can’t because some of you really want me to put a ribbon in my hair and start the fire and lie to you about what’s really going on in the world. Lamester. 

Let’s go over some of the highlights: 

  • Don’t ask him questions about his actions or question his judgment or integrity. Remember, he is the master of the house and as such will always exercise his will with fairness and truthfulness. YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO QUESTION HIM.  Hahahaha.  
  • Prepare the children … they are little treasures and he would like to see them playing the part. Um, am I supposed to give the kids a script? Do we rehearse their parts all day so that when daddy is home they can perform well?
  • Don’t complain if he’s late home for dinner or even if he stays out all night. Count this as minor compared to what he might have gone through all day. What about what I have gone through all day trying to get these kids to learn their lines and choreography?! So I should prepare for his arrival all day, only for him to come in as he pleases? Am I still responsible for keeping a hot meal ready for him? That’s magic talk!

There are a couple of things I can ride with, since they reflect what I would like to see in my home as well:

  • Don’t greet him with complaints and problems. I can get with this, not because a man shouldn’t have to deal with my complaints and problems, but because no one should walk in the door and be bombarded with issues. 
  • Your goal: Try to make sure your home is a place of peace, order and tranquility where your husband can renew himself in body and spirit. Sure, nothing wrong with that. I want my home to be a place of peace and order for the BOTH of us. 


1 Comment

Filed under Routine Ramblings

One response to “Boy, men sure are delicate.

  1. LMAO!

    With most married/cohabitating households requiring two or more incomes to survive in these times, who has the time for all that?

    Besides, yo… ain’t NO sistas in their right mind even entertaining such foolishness in 2008.
    Dudes would be sleeping on the couch nationwide if they tried that mess.

Leave a Reply

