In there like swimwear

J, C and ME

It’s June. It’s pretty much summertime. To me, summer used to mean time off from school, day camp and summer league basketball games. Now, summer is about the days being longer, humidity fucking with my Dominican press, internships/clerkships, traveling out of town on the weekends and SWIMMING.

I love to swim. Pool. Beach. Lakes (well not so much nowadays). I like to immerse myself in the water and feel the cool liquid wash over my entire body. I like the quiet way I can cut through the water when swimming totally submerged. I like splashing in salty waves, getting knocked down and doing it all over again. Every year I look forward to handstands in the pool and pushing my friends in the water at Maurice’s pool parties.

The only problem with swimming is that, in most places, you can’t do it naked. You need a swimsuit. It has come to my attention that it is time for me to purchase new swimwear. KILL ME NOW!

Shopping for a bathing suit is the worst. It has always been this way. It’s an exercise in torture for even the most body-confident person out there. I know why, but I don’t know why. When I am at home and I catch a glimpse of myself in my underwear, I think things look totally fine. A bathing suit is pretty much the same as underwear, right? So what is it about the bathing suit that makes you notice every imperfection (real or perceived)?

Last summer I toggled between a strapless one piece (pictured above) and a neutral two piece. I would like to have two choices for the upcoming summer as well. What is important to me when choosing a suit are fit, boob support and flattery. You don’t want to spill out of your suit when jumping into a wave. You also want to be able to walk around the beach and not moon small children.

Here are some suits I’m checking for. Please invite me to any beach outings or pool parties. I am not afraid to get my hair wet.

2 Comments

Filed under Routine Ramblings

2 responses to “In there like swimwear

  1. Polo Bear

    My Top 3.

    The Wide Band joint

    Brown one

    Tankini

    But why not be bold and go for the Floss in ur behing option :)

  2. ndenise

    That’s not bold, that’s just irresponsible!!!

Leave a Reply

