Like 40 Acres to Blacks

Briefly: I can’t tell you how much it pains me to owe money to friends. I try not to borrow any unless it’s really necessary. Even then, I put up a fight. I know people just want to help, I guess I’m used to taking care of myself and making a way. Still, even I know that we all need a hand. Times is hard. I’m a student. I don’t have family with money in their pockets.

When I do need to borrow money from a friend, it stays on my mind to pay them back. It might not be the next week or the next month, but for sure I’m going to get it back to them. They may have forgotten about it or they might not really expect a return at all (a lot of people have the view that if you can’t afford to lose it, you can’t lend it).

When I’m out with my friends and I forgot to get cash or I’m short a few bucks, someone will probably front me the dough. Now I don’t keep exact tabs on debts like that. I just know that next time I’ll get the tab. That’s not really an I owe you/you owe me situation. That’s just the way it is with friends. Direct money lending, however, is another story. Especially when it’s a large amount.

Anyway, I pay folks back. I expect the same. Otherwise, you’re in for a world of pain. Just like oil and water, business and pleasure, friends and owed money just doesn’t mix.

So if I need some paper, just know I’m good for it!!

2 Comments

Filed under Routine Ramblings

2 responses to “Like 40 Acres to Blacks

  1. Ken Drizzle

    I just want to lend you money now so I can guilt trip you into free legal advice later.

    I be thinking

  2. krispyana

    lol usu. I’m the one lending money to friends. Most of the time, I forget, and fortunately for me they are honest enough to actually hunt me down just to give me my money back, but times are getting bad. For the 1st time, I am actually having to hunt folks down. Which is hard for me b/c it’s letting people know that I am hard up too. I just called a friend recently who had been avoiding me. I tell her I need the money, and she tells me that she doesn’t have it. Having never been in this situation before, I was stumped as to what to say next. What could I say at that point? I was tempted to put her on a payment plan, lol, but that might have come off as trifling. We sat there in silence for a while, and finally she gives me a time line as to when I could expect my money. I think that as long as you keep people posted or updated on what’s going on with you and your ability to pay them back, people won’t trip. I’d rather people let me know that I won’t get the money within a certain time frame, than tell me that I will, only to let me down. At least if I know that I’m not going to get that money for another week, then I can make adjustments accordingly.

Leave a Reply

