I should so write for Grey’s Anatomy

I think Shonda Rhimes, the show’s creator and exec producer, is already tapping my lines, reading my blog.

The bigwigs over at Grey’s have axed the lesbian Dr. Torres/Dr. Hahn storyline. I told yall that the storyline was beat.

Me: “The match is a bad one and it’s totally unbelievable. Those women have zero chemistry together and their journey to discover whether they’re gay or not is a little off-putting.” – 11/3/08

Shonda Rhimes: Sara Ramirez, who plays Callie, is an “incredible” actress and the goal is “to play up her magic,” Rhimes said. “Unfortunately, we did not find that the magic and chemistry with Brooke’s character would sustain in the long run.” – 11/4/08

See. Tapped. Not only is the lesbian relationship cut from the show, Brooke Smith who plays Dr. Erica Hahn got the boot from the show altogether! According to 247Gay.com, Smith was completely blindsided when producers kicked her and her newly out character to the curb. “I was so naive. I’m like, It’s 2008.” Smith said about believing that ABC would have followed through and not shied away from the lesbian storyline. “But I’m starting to realize that not everyone feels the way I do.”

Sorry Brooke. Don’t put this on ABC’s lack of homo-friendliness or inability to stand up and wave the rainbow flag. According to GLAAD, the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation, ABC’s fall schedule had seven characters that are either gay men or bisexual women, including the Callie and Erica characters, the most of any broadcast network. Face it, the story arc blows. I won’t miss her anyway. Her character, Dr. Hahn, is pushy and mean and all out bitchy. So what she’s a hot shot heart surgeon. She’s no Preston Burke! I’m sure we can do without her pursed lips and condescending attitude.

Obvy they should just let me start writing for the show. At the very least they could let me watch the episodes before anyone else and tell them when something sucks. I could have saved them all of this trouble because you know the show is already associated with homophobia i.e. Isaiah Washington’s bullshit.

2 Comments

Filed under I'm Judging You (reviews & criticism), Routine Ramblings

2 responses to “I should so write for Grey’s Anatomy

  1. Eugena

    Also, how are you going to have a character with the last name “Hahn” and not have her be Korean?!?!?! (“han” or “hahn” is the Korean word for…Korea/Korean!! Maybe it was reverse adoption of white person by Koreans?)

  2. I am so glad that they axed it. There was no chemistry and Hahn has no sex appeal.

Leave a Reply

